Author’s Note: Maya Angelou

This piece I wrote was obviously inspired by Maya Angelou. I originally wrote it September 22, 2014. Of course relationships are always a HOT topic-emotions dictate our lives! And we just love to fall in love. I came across the quote “Have courage to love one more time and always one more time” from Maya Angelou, while feeling low in my bed about some bum that hurt my feelings. I decided to google some uplifting quotes to get inspired to write about it and let it go.

The quote had taken me back to my high school sweetheart, we fell in love fast and hard, and of course crashed. But we’re still very good friends. So based off the quote, I compared my courage to love again after him by explaining how I felt during our relationship in the beginning versus the end.

In relation to the actual bum that inspired this poem, I thought about how “loving” is a continuous cycle, which is why you constantly need the courage “to love one more time and always one more time”. So then the poem becomes an illustration of ending a relationship and moving on to the next one.

Published by: itsmekayb

I'm a 2012 graduate from the University of Missouri-Columbia from St. Louis, MO. I graduated with my Bachelor of Arts & Science degree with emphasis in Communication; Sociology with a minor in Psychology.

Categories Author's NotesLeave a comment

Leave a comment