Rage Page

Usually mugs a spit about some righteous ish
And the state of our people
They’ll talk about change and then try to reach you
They’ll talk about the murders the racism and war
And give you theories about what it’s happening for

They’ll mention Mike Brown, Trayvon, and Eric
They may mention gun use and our right to bear it
They’ll talk about reparations and speak words of uprising
And how we shud do better and stop all the fighting

This is all fine but can I vent a little?

It’s cool to speak about righteousness and the state of our people
But I want to see you live the change then I’ll believe you
I want to see your campaigns without biases of others
Instead of judging and only helping select sisters and brothers
It’s cool to have feminine power and embrace women’s rights
Long as it’s real and not cuz you saw Bey on TV last night

I’m just venting a little

I see my dad working hard 16 hour shifts
How he’s driven by money with his mind focused on gifts
How he sits and watches CNN with piercing attention
Complaining about all the things that they mention
How my mom has diabetes but don’t want to listen
She the one sick yet it causes me tension

The youth of my family going down the wrong path
All they know is 6 seconds of foolery for a good laugh
Ungrateful attitudes; feel entitled to everything
No ambition no ambition! Do you want to be anything?
World Star, Twitter, Facebook and YouTube
Kik, Hangouts and Instagram nudes

Im just venting

I’m frustrated with life
And the world
And the people in it
Capitalization, reality TV, ratchet music,
The House and the Senate
I don’t understand why the continents aren’t United Nations
I’m tired of mugs complaining, blaming
And protesting for reparations

I want to help
I want to do something about it
Yet it frustrates me that we are constantly distracted
From news 2 views
Jobs to blogs
Money to success
Weed to women
Children and love
Parents to family
Gas price to night life
Cosby to Minaj

We don’t see the problem, but I’m just venting

I’m getting closer to God but I’m getting closer to death
Trying to read the Bible, trying to find myself
I’ve learned death has no age limit,
No weight or height requirement
The end is the end and when it ends, it’s ended
My nephew, cousin, uncle; the good ones all died
They say the good ones die young, why am I still alive?

It’s just a lot of things I don’t understand
And there are so many things I want to reprimand
But I’m not just venting I’m asking for a hand

I’m asking for you to not only listen but please understand…

Published by: itsmekayb

I'm a 2012 graduate from the University of Missouri-Columbia from St. Louis, MO. I graduated with my Bachelor of Arts & Science degree with emphasis in Communication; Sociology with a minor in Psychology.

Categories PoemsLeave a comment

Leave a comment