Falling In Potential

I just wanted to love you
I just wanted to be yours
I wanted you to be mines
I wanted your voice to be the one that said I love u back when I got off the phone
I wanted your arms to comfort me
I wanted your kisses to be the only ones I wanted
I wanted my kisses to be the only ones you needed

Call me crazy but I almost fell in love
Call me Crazy but I might’ve already been in love

I wanted you bad
Maybe more than you wanted me
I haven’t felt how u made me feel in a long time
I hadn’t smiled the way I smiled when I was with you
I hadn’t laughed the way I did when I was with you
I hadn’t felt that sexy when I was with you…in a long time

The disappointment in what we could’ve been
The devastation that comes with the realization that you aren’t for me
That we can’t move forward because of the attitude u possess

And my honor to your free will
I’d never change you because I was ready to love you the way you are

How could someone u know become a stranger
How did I slip into these emotions
How did you make me weak for you

I’m stronger
I’ve been stronger

I think I almost fell in love
I think I gave too much
Do I dare love again?
Do I dare to try again?

True colors were revealed and they weren’t your best
I thought I was special
I thought u cared just as much as me
I don’t understand…

The broken communication
No real attempt to reconcile
No real emotion

Was it real?
What was it?

I’ve finally been hurt
It happened
Call me crazy, but I knew it’d b u…

**Check out the Author’s Notes for a link to an insightful article about this**

Published by: itsmekayb

I'm a 2012 graduate from the University of Missouri-Columbia from St. Louis, MO. I graduated with my Bachelor of Arts & Science degree with emphasis in Communication; Sociology with a minor in Psychology.

Categories PoemsLeave a comment

Leave a comment